English literature / British literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (2812)

French (2290)

German (8)

Spanish (982)

Italian (1669)

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

Fiction

Mystery & Detective (1238)

Historical (344)

Literary (314)

Thrillers (282)

Science Fiction (249)

Fantasy (239)

Horror (75)

Espionage (39)

Short Stories (23)

Occult & Supernatural (15)

Action & Adventure (5)

Humorous (3)

Media Tie-In (3)

Classics (2)

War & Military (2)

Sea Stories (1)

Biographical (1)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (1)

 

Non-Fiction

Religion (1)

Languages study (1)

 

Protection

All (2812)

DRM Free (132)

DRM (2680)

More options

It Can't Go On

by Joseph Connolly

The moment he spots Maria's long legs at a party, Jeremy knows he's done for. The moment she sees that look in his eyes, Maria knows she's in for a free ride. The moment she twigs Jeremy's sneaking around, his...


The Girl With All The Gifts

by M. R. Carey

'ORIGINAL, THRILLING AND POWERFUL' - Guardian

'HAUNTING, HEARTHBREAKING' - Vogue

The phenomenal word-of-mouth bestseller that is now a BAFTA Award-nominated movie

NOT EVERY GIFT IS A BLESSING

Every morning, Melanie...


The End of the Wasp Season

Alex Morrow #2

Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2012

by Denise Mina

A savage murder with no apparent motive - DS Morrow's most challenging case brings her work and home lives dangerously close... From the two-time winner of the prestigious Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel...


The Petrovitch Trilogy

by Simon Morden

Welcome to the Metrozone - post-apocalyptic London of the future. Whilst the rest of Britain has devolved to anarchy, the M25 cordon protects a decaying city filled with homeless refugees, street gangs, exiled...


High Rising

Barsetshire #1

by Angela Thirkell & Alexander McCall Smith

Successful lady novelist Laura Morland and her boisterous young son Tony set off to spend Christmas at her country home in the sleepy surrounds of High Rising. But Laura's wealthy friend and neighbour George...


The Curve of the Earth

Samuil Petrovitch #4

by Simon Morden

WELCOME TO THE METROZONE

Post-apocalyptic London, full of street gangs and homeless refugees. A dangerous city needs an equally dangerous saviour.

Step forward Samuil Petrovitch, a genius with extensive cybernetic...


The Thread

by Victoria Hislop

The enthralling novel from the million-copy bestselling author of THE ISLAND and THE RETURN.

Thessaloniki, 1917. As Dimitri Komninos is born, a devastating fire sweeps through the thriving Greek city where Christians,...


Morality for Beautiful Girls

No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency #3

by Alexander McCall Smith

THE NO.1 LADIES' DETECTIVE AGENCY published in 1998, introduced the world to the one and only Precious Ramotswe, the engaging and sassy owner of Botswana's only detective agency. TEARS OF THE GIRAFFE took us...


Lies Sleeping

Peter Grant #7

by Ben Aaronovitch

Martin Chorley, aka the Faceless Man, wanted for multiple counts of murder, fraud and crimes against humanity, has been unmasked and is on the run.

Peter Grant, Detective Constable and apprentice wizard, now...


The Bone Readers

by Jacob Ross

WINNER OF THE JHALAK PRIZE

'The Bone Readers is a page-turner, but its insights and language are equally testament to a literary novel of impressive depth and acuity'

Guardian

Secrets can be buried, but bones...


Dying Truth

by Angela Marsons

How far would you go to protect your darkest secrets?

When teenager Sadie Winter jumps from tåhe roof of her school, her death is ruled as suicide – a final devastating act from a troubled girl. But then...


The Girl I Used To Be

by Mary Torjussen

'A TEASING, SUSPENSEFUL, AND TWISTY READ' Shari Lapena, THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR

Completely gripping and full of page-turning twists, this dark psychological thriller will be loved by fans of Laura Marshall's FRIEND...


The Nothing

by Hanif Kureishi

One night, when I am old, sick, right out of semen, and don't need things to get any worse, I hear the noises growing louder. I am sure they are making love in Zenab's bedroom which is next to mine.

Waldo, a...


Devil's Wolf

Hugh Corbett #19

by Paul Doherty

England, 1311. In the dark of the North the devil lies in wait...

Paul Doherty's most popular series character returns in the gripping nineteenth mystery in the Hugh Corbett series.

If you love the historical...


Betrayal

The Centurions #1

by Anthony Riches

AD 69: The Rhine frontier has exploded into bloody rebellion, and four centurions who once fought in the same army find themselves on opposite sides of a vicious insurrection.

The rebel leader Kivilaz and his...


Dark Serpent

Hugh Corbett #18

by Paul Doherty

Disease. Danger. Death. Sir Hugh Corbett returns...

Hugh Corbett is takes up a life of danger yet again in Dark Serpent, the eighteenth novel in Paul Doherty's series. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and...


Career of Evil

Cormoran Strike #3

by Robert Galbraith

'Deliriously clever' GUARDIAN

-----

Now a major BBC drama: The Strike series

When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.

Her boss,...


Dominus

by Tom Fox

Fans of Simon Toyne's Sanctus and Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code will be gripped by this relentless religious conspiracy thriller.

The Vatican Cathedral is packed to the rafters as Pope Gregory XVII leads the...


Dear Departed

Bill Slider #10

by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

It's Detective Inspector Bill Slider's day off and he had hoped to have some quiet time with Joanna, his pregnant fiancée. But a woman's body is found in the park and he finds himself back to work sooner than...


The Devil's Anvil

Joe Hunter #10

by Matt Hilton

Accepting the task of protecting Billie Womack is a no-brainer for ex-counterterrorist soldier Joe Hunter, but it comes with its own set of complications.

Billie's husband, Richard, stole thirty million dollars...